Swaledale Marathon

The annual Swaledale Marathon passes through some of Swaledale's finest scenery. The 24 mile course is a fell run / challenge walk event - competitors must navigate themselves and complete the course within 10 hours. It has been organised by Swaledale Outdoor Club since 1979.

Swaledale Outdoor Club have decided to cancel the 2021 Swaledale Marathon in light of the ongoing Coronavirus pandemic and the government's proposed road map.

Postponement has been carefully considered but, taking everything into account, this is not viable.

Places will not be held for 2022 and must be applied for again. Details of how to enter can be found here.

Unfortunately we also had to cancel the 2020 Swaledale Marathon (June 13th) owing to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 40th Swaledale Marathon was on Saturday 8th June 2019. 432 participants completed the route. Heavy rain and a fresh breeze made it rather hostile on the more exposed sections of the route with a higher retirement rate than usual at Level House (mostly from the effects of exposure). It had rained heavily all night, so the stream crossings were quite challenging! Ray Stevenson was presented with a pottery decanter and set of beakers for his amazing feat of completing all 40 Swaledale Marathons since 1979. The prize winners were as follows.

Marathon Salver fastest man Jamie Rutherford 03:01
  2nd man Matthew Hayes 03:14
  3rd man Julian Simpson 03:18
Marathon Rosebowl fastest lady Fiona Brannan 03:36
  2nd lady Sarah Hackett 03:46
  3rd lady Heather Mochrie 03:50
Ray Stevenson Shield fastest veteran man Simon Jones 03:36
Marathon Vase fastest veteran lady Sarah Hackett 03:46
Vic Harrison Trophy first SOC man Graham Thomas 03:22
Vic Harrison Trophy first SOC lady Jean Manser 05:12
Stuart Pailor Shield first over 60 man Steve Brown 03:50
Lesley Pailor Shield first over 60 lady Val Clarke 04:45
Marathon Mens Team Trophy East Hull Harriers & AC Matthew Hayes / P A Wray / Andrew Deyes / Tony Cross
Marathon Ladies Team Trophy Swaledale Runners Sarah Hackett / Rebecca Simpson / Tracy Hunter / Sue Thurlbeck

Full results are available in our results section.

Read 49722 times