Skip to main content

Swaledale Marathon

The annual Swaledale Marathon passes through some of Swaledale's finest scenery. The 24 mile course is a fell run / challenge walk event - competitors must navigate themselves and complete the course within 10 hours. It has been organised by Swaledale Outdoor Club since 1979.

The Swaledale Marathon is very popular and entries go fast. The 2025 event will take place on Saturday 14th June. Entries will open on Saturday 4th January at 07:00. We are using the SI Entries online entry system again and the event will appear on their event list a few days before it goes live. If you're not already registered with SI Entries, you can do this in advance at any time.

The 43rd Swaledale Marathon was on Saturday 8th June 2024. Congratulations to all 441 participants who completed the route in the cool conditions with a fresh westerly breeze. Keith Wigley smashed the previous record (2:55, set by Robert Mitchell in 1988).

The prize winners were as follows.

Marathon Salver fastest man Keith Wigley 02:51
2nd man Lee Kemp 03:01
3rd man Runar Saether 03:09
Marathon Rosebowl fastest lady Angela Gill 03:51
Joint 2nd ladies Jaimie Buckley / Rachel Steen 04:01
Ray Stevenson Shield fastest veteran man Trevor Bosomworth 03:32
Marathon Vase fastest veteran lady Jaimie Buckley 04:01
Vic Harrison Trophy first SOC man Ross Bell 03:39
Vic Harrison Trophy first SOC lady Karen Saward 04:49
Stuart Pailor Shield first over 60 man Joseph Hartley 04:04
Lesley Pailor Shield first over 60 lady Sarah Gillespie 04:44
Marathon Mens Team Trophy Swaledale Runners Keith Wigley / Ben Hamilton / Tim Grimwood / Michael Devereux-Cole  
Marathon Ladies Team Trophy Totley AC Jaimie Buckley / Rachel Steen / Sarah Franklin / Kate Stabbs  

Full results are available in our results section.

The 2025 Swaledale Marathon will be on Saturday 14th June.