Swaledale Marathon

Posted by Swaledale Outdoor Club on 2011-04-18

The 34th Swaledale Marathon was on Saturday 8th June 2013. 444 participants completed the route. Conditions were bright and sunny, but with a clarity of air that really showed off the magnificent views of Arkengarthdale and Swaledale. Congratulations to all finishers, especially to Ray Stevenson on his 34th marathon. The prize winners were as follows.


Marathon Salver fastest man Stewart Gregory 03:08
2nd man Tony Lambert
3rd man Mark Forrest 03:15
Marathon Rosebowl fastest lady Heather Mochrie
2nd lady Katie Sherwood 03:40
3rd lady Amy Sarkies
Ray Stevenson Shield fastest veteran man Steve Brown
Marathon Vase fastest veteran lady Jacqueline Keavney
Vic Harrison Trophy first SOC man Neil Bowmer
Vic Harrison Trophy first SOC lady Diane Jobson 04:15
Stuart Pailor Shield
first over 60 man Alexander Whiteside
Lesley Pailor Shield
first over 60 lady Shirley Oglesby
Marathon Mens Team Trophy Swaledale Road Runners
Tony Lambert / Steve Brown / Robbie Kelly / Derek Parrington
Marathon Ladies Team Trophy Swaledale Road Runners Jacqueline Keavney / Sarah Hackett / Karen Saward / Suzie McGann


Full results are available here.

The annual Swaledale Marathon passes through some of Swaledale's finest scenery. The 23 mile course is a fell run / challenge walk event - competitors must navigate themselves and complete the course within 10 hours. It has been organised by Swaledale Outdoor Club since 1979.

Read 1356 times